Remaps

Mexico75

Hi, I know this has probably been answered elsewhere, but will a stage one remap invalidate my Skoda warrenty? 

I'm new to tuning new cars, everything I've done before has been 20 years out of warrenty and involved boring out the block and sticking twin Webbers on it. Now you need a PhD in advanced computer programming and a computer. 

Short answer= yes.

Long answer= do a load of searches on here it has been discussed many times with some choosing to take the risk but most waiting till after warranty is over.  There is at least one tuning company that offers cover for the engine and gearbox post remap but I can remember who.

• Like 1

I waited until my warranty was over before I had the vRS remapped (Revo Stage 1).  This was because Skoda were very clear that my warranty would be voided in its entirety.

However, someone on here recently posted a comment from Skoda saying that the warranty contract remains, but any components affected by the remap would not be covered, or words to that effect, which I thought was really interesting.  Annoyingly, that thread is currently eluding my ability to find it for the moment.

EDIT:  Found it - post by Doctor_Strange in the 'Anyone think remaps are worth it?' thread (Octy III forum):

'Had a much more logical reply from Rainworth dealership:

Thank you for your enquiry, the contractual warranty can only be declined if a component or components on your vehicle fail as a result of the re-map being carried out.

Any non-related claims shouldn’t be an issue'.

Gaz

Edited by IamGaz
Quote found
  • Like 1

• 6 months later...

i have a question about remaps of a TDI.

Is my understanding correct that by increasing the torque with the remap, you need lower rpm to archive the same speed as before the remap. So after the remap the car should in turn be a bit more quiet and the mpg should be better? Does that makes sense?