Towing at a crawl with the DSG Auto?

reliantreviver

Weighing up the possible options for replacing my old Mitsubishi Pajero, which is a great tow vehicle but no longer suiting our overall needs.  

Very much like the idea of a 2.0l TDI Yeti 4x4  but would have to be an auto. I have no prior experience of DSG gearboxes. Are they content with being put under hefty load at low speed? I ask as my (400kg empty) trailer is stored down a perilous access road, and getting it out requires going up a very severe slope and round a corner - a manoeuvre that is best done at a crawl.  

thoughts and input welcome, am i barking up the wrong tree on this one?

Welllll I said Pajero, but really it's a Delica although that's usually met with blank stares. Much the same though mechanically, 3.0L V6 Petrol, 4spd auto, hi/lo range but I just use it in 4H to tow up the slope, which it manages very well, even if stopping and starting off again on the incline. I don't even hate it for having averaged 17mpg in it's time with me! But the kids have outgrown the middle row seating and the back row is redundant. 

I've found a few good old threads commending the Yeti for it's manoeuvrability and also relating to the 140 and 170 being very capable with the DSG as a towcar. But i have to admit to a lacking a total understanding of the DSG clutch system. Am I going to harm it if I do stop off and start again under heavy load  up a slope? 

• Thanks 1

Hadn't found that thread though toot, so thanks for the link! Interesting to see your experiences with the Jimny aswell. I was all set to get a later auto for the purpose for shifting the trailer and using locally, but ended up discounting it on the basis I'd have to effectively run it with the front axle de-activated to enable it to pull up in 4 Low but only driving the rear wheels for fear of wrecking the centre diff. 

Dug up a pic of the "situation" here. Even this doesn't give a true appreciation of how ridiculously steep it is!