Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

octavia fuses / fusebox


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 dave364634

dave364634

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 January 2008 - 19:20

hi, ive been sent here from somewhere else.

anyway,

basically ive got one with an electrical leak. some bright spark (maybe me, maybe not) pulled out all the fuses.
anyway the diagrame in the book is lhd and nothing like the actual box.
we can i get the right diagram?

the skoda diagram

Posted Image

the actual box

Posted Image

my diagram

Posted Image

engine cover

Posted Image

top left to right:
in the skoda diagrame numbers go
8
       5    9
1  3   6   10
2  4   7   11   etc

where as the numbers on the actual car go
20    16     12
21    17     13
22    18     14
23    19     15     etc

also the numbers in the bottom section run differently.


ive been sent the link

http://www.briskoda....x-layout/88051/

but none of the numbers on the car fusebox match up with the numbers in the book. i realise there 'mirrored from lhd to rhd, but none of the number functions add up (ie the wipers are 24 and not 21, or that full beam is 18 and 19, not 15 and 16).

help!!!!!

if anyone cares ive been sent from

octavia fuses - Talk Audio Forums

cheers. :thumbup:

#2 dave364634

dave364634

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 January 2008 - 21:59

anyone?

ive been sent

Posted Image

but the problem with the above is, that if you look at the top left on your photo where the 2x 15amp fuses are, they do the dip/low beam. if you look in the book (#17 and 18) they should be 10amps.

:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

#3 fordfan

fordfan

    .

  • Super Moderators
  • 5,121 posts
  • Car:Sierra 1.8 LX

Posted 18 January 2008 - 07:23

What are you trying to do?, put the fuses back in your fusebox, except that you don't know which power fuse to put where?

Headlamp dipped beam is typically 55 Watt which will need a current of around 5 Amps continuously, if both were on the same circuit then the fuse would have to take 10 amps continuously, so for a single dipped beam use a 10 A fuse and for two running through the same fuse use a 15 Amp. The same applies to the main beam circuit. If you divide the watts by the voltage (typically 12 in a car) you will get the current Amps that is required.

#4 Gizmo68

Gizmo68

    We're here for a good time, not a long time

  • Moderators
  • 8,642 posts
  • Location:Hawkinge, Kent
  • Car:Superb Combi Elegance 2.0 TDi 170CR, On order: FL Yeti L&K 2.0 TDi 170CR

Posted 18 January 2008 - 09:08

The diagram is a mirror image, just reverse it.

Do xenon headlights have 15A fuses instead of 10A?
Or maybe whoever sent you the photo had uprated the headlight bulbs, blew the fuses so uprated them - a common thing a lot of people do. :rolleyes:
In any case just reverse the diagram and fit them back in that order, it is confusing though, how hard would it be for VAG to produce a LHD & RHD book?? :eek:

#5 KenONeill

KenONeill

    Not the Stig

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,205 posts

Posted 18 January 2008 - 12:06

Why, unless there's a striking load (like older household flourescents), would Xenons need higher wattage fuses, since they only draw about half the current?

#6 Gizmo68

Gizmo68

    We're here for a good time, not a long time

  • Moderators
  • 8,642 posts
  • Location:Hawkinge, Kent
  • Car:Superb Combi Elegance 2.0 TDi 170CR, On order: FL Yeti L&K 2.0 TDi 170CR

Posted 18 January 2008 - 12:22

Thats why I'm asking, i know xenon only have a 35W 'bulb' compared to a 55W halogen, but they first have to power the ballast then they have to arc the lamp itself.

I seem to remember (on here i think?) somebody kept popping the 10A fuse after they had retro fitted xenons.
(mine run fine on the std 10A fuse though)

#7 DGW

DGW

    Losing a marble a day. :(

  • Honorary
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,346 posts

Posted 18 January 2008 - 14:23

Is this what you are looking for?

Posted Image

#8 powergym1984

powergym1984

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 January 2008 - 00:04

does anyone know which is the fuse for the airbag light on the dashboard?i don't know for the skoda but i'm sure that for the VW is the number 15 5Amp light brown,is it the same for a skoda octavia TDI '00?many thanks

#9 fordfan

fordfan

    .

  • Super Moderators
  • 5,121 posts
  • Car:Sierra 1.8 LX

Posted 26 January 2008 - 05:28

The airbag light is a LED, it draws a very low current and would not need a fuse. What's the problem with it?

#10 powergym1984

powergym1984

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 30 January 2008 - 15:15

well the led is on,something wrong with the airbag i didn't mean the fuse for the led but for the airbag sistem.should be somewhere?i'm been to the garage be4 and it's been reset but after 50 miles it was on again sorry but i don't throw £25 everytime i pop in the garage and waste my time........i know also that i don't have an error code if i use the vga.com...what should i do cut off the led and good bye?

#11 KenONeill

KenONeill

    Not the Stig

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,205 posts

Posted 30 January 2008 - 15:30

I'm wondering about a loose connection, in which case good luck!

#12 burtoskoda

burtoskoda

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Car:Octavia VR

Posted 20 September 2008 - 13:59

Hi there - on the subject of fuses, I'm wondering whether the cd changer in the boot is fused, if so which one - its mysteriously stopped working and doesn't appear damaged - fuse????

Thank you, burto

#13 KenONeill

KenONeill

    Not the Stig

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,205 posts

Posted 22 September 2008 - 07:51

Got a message on the head unit Burto? If so, and it's either "Surface" or "Mechanic", remove the magazine, count to ten, refit it, and leave the car for a bit usually works.

#14 Jago

Jago

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Car:skoda

Posted 08 November 2008 - 14:39

Hi

I managed to get a clear fuse box diagram with the numbers for all to see.

Hope this helps.

Attached Files



#15 Taxi 219

Taxi 219

    Retired

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,527 posts
  • Car:Octavia TDi

Posted 08 November 2008 - 17:06

Ah thats useful thanks :thumbup:

#16 herbrobert

herbrobert

    Briskodian

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Car:2001 Octavia 4x4

Posted 17 January 2013 - 20:03

SO was it fuse 42? The radio works fine, just the CD player is dead?




0 User(s) reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users