Fabia Estate or Roomster?

jdjm1971

First post here, although I've been a Skoda driver for the last 8 years! Currently have a 54 plate 1.4 Fabia Estate Elegance - lovely car but starting to show its age, so thinking of changing shortly for another Skoda. I have been looking at the Roomster as an alternative to the Fabia Estate, but can't decide whether it is a good option for a family (two adults and two junior-school-age children). Seen an ex-demo Roomster 1.4 3 or 1.9 TDi 3 at local dealership that look interesting. Any advice would be gratefully received.

We used to have a Roomy 3 1.9tdi as our main Family wagon,

Took it down to the South of France twice for a 2 week s/c hols, the girls had plenty of room in the back. we did 799 miles back in a day, 13hrs no problems.

One thing i will say is over the 18,000m we did it averaged 47mpg, you would possible get more out of a Fabia est due to it being a better shape.

Hi jdjm and welcome to the Forum.

I faced the same choice two years ago. I eventually decided on the Roomster because of its removable rear seats and greater load-carrying space. Other plus points were the availability of a huge glass sunroof, the amount of rear seat legroom - even with the rear seats in their fully forward position, and the Marmite love-it-or-hate-it looks of the car. One disadvantage of the adjustable rear seats is the gap that is left between the seat backs and the parcel shelf. There is a Heath Robinson type gap-filler available from Skoda for around £15 but I prefer to cover the contents of the boot with a black cloth.