Help, Quick! Which vrs?

Hi folks I'm buying a 2006 vrs tfsi and I have two offers. No 1 has 86000 miles and price is £4500. No 2 has 53000 miles and price £5700, which one should I go for assuming both in vgood condition and fsh etc? Urgency is I'm lifting either or this weekend. Thanks in advance.

Number 2 sounds a better bargain but what about extras, options etc? Hard to tell without seeing/driving them surely

I'm flying over to England from n Ireland, test drive not possible therefore for both unfortunately. Options on both cars v similar, nothing in it, i suppose it's whether there's better valu in 32000 less miles approx in dearer car, that's why I'm in here asking the experts! ;)

I'm no expert but they are both out of warranty and all things else being equal £1200 for 33000 miles (or about 3 years normal motoring) less sounds a better bag. I know high mileage isn't necessarily the devil it used to be be even so I think I know which I'd go for.

I'm no expert but they are both out of warranty and all things else being equal £1200 for 33000 miles (or about 3 years normal motoring) less sounds a better bag. I know high mileage isn't necessarily the devil it used to be be even so I think I know which I'd go for.

Another thing to consider is the best option for a remap, would a fresher engine be better or if the engine with higher miles be ok if it was well looked after?

I would agree. Its not just engine wear and tear. Suspension and interior may also be an issue. I've done high miles in a diesel vrs and they don't show age when looked after but I would still go with the lower mileage example if the service history stacked up. Have you considered looking in the roi? Despite what is thought the roads aren't grass filledc rators and from my experience someone buying a vrs is more likely to have been looked after. I have seen some stupidly cheap ones recently. Ignore the two silver 2006 ones on done deal.ie and carzone.ie.

Edited by EoinM