2011 1.2TSi DSG Oil Leak - head gasket gone?

Farley

Hoping you can all help with a problem to OH's car - I have no engine knowledge. Bought new in 2011 and full dealer service history

So car was dealer serviced & MOT 2 weeks ago - went in with a small oil leak reported by wife.

Oil spotted on ground under car.

No mention of oil leak on service report!

Oil leak recorded on MOT.

Both reports by same engineer!

Nothing highlighted to wife during service/on collection of car.

Oil leak continued/worsened last week, so phoned and took car back.

Apparently the "head gasket has gone" - cue much shouting and frustration.

Dealer customer service non existent - surprising as they have serviced both our cars for 6years.

So no courtesy car, awaiting quote for repair this week.

Apparently car was ok for wife to drive home carefully for local use until fixed?

Wife said no - doesn't head gasket fail = cracked engine block if used?

Any suggestions/advice please.

Any known issues in this engine>

Thanks in advance.

Did the car go in for servicing being perfectly OK then this happen?

DID THE TECHNICIAN SERVICE THE CAR AND NOT REPORT OIL LEAKS BUT THE MOT EXAMINATION DID?

HAD YOUR WIFE ASKED THE DEALERSHIP TO LOOK FOR WHERE THE OIL LEAK WAS?

EDIT. 

Sorry i now see you said, 'no mention of oil leak on service report' 

You need to be sure the correct Oil filter is fitted, & fitted correctly, no slap dash oil filling and spilling and messing up the engine,

Is the car at the garage now where you have to trust there word rather than have an independent machanic inspect and check?

Trust nobody and get this all discussed with the dealer principal, report carried out by the AA or RAC or someone from another motor group if possible.

Edited by Headinawayoffski

How many miles has the car covered and has it been on Fixed Servicing so this was the 6th service by them?

Has the car had anywork on the Timing chain in the past 6 years?  The Update!