1.4 TSI 4x4 vs 2.0 190 TDI 4x4 -purchase dilema

Hi,

Complete newbie and about to purchase a Kodiaq of some sort. I've test driven the 4x4 in both 1.4TSI and 2.0 190PS TDI flavours. I was impressed with the 1.4TSI but in my head feel like I should be getting the diesel for mpg reasons.

I've got a great deal sitting there on a 1.4TSI 4x4 but am concerned about mpg with the 4x4 and in some sense power when it is fully loaded up and I need to overtake on a motorway. The TSI has a lot of extra options and for a bit more money I can buy diesel with less options.

Really not that worried about buying a diesel, I'm more worried the 1.4TSI 4x4 is thirsty. I'm told it will try and use 2 wheel drive as much as possible - is that true? Really I'm after some owner experience. The car will do 20 mile each way to/from work, weekend children taxi and some long runs into europe and weekends away in the UK.

I figured some of you guys might be best places to provide a steer. I'm buying something but what to go for is the problem?

thanks.

Welcome to Briskoda B)

The additional fuel consumption on the 4x4 is more down to the extra weight rather than the amount of time it drives more than two wheels.

Don't get stuck on the engine size. The 1.4 TSI has 150PS so plenty of power, even for an SUV, even one carrying passengers and luggage, but as you've probably discovered it has very different driving characteristics compared to the diesel.

The 190PS diesel has more power but a few owners report an annoying lag between pressing the accelerator and the power arriving.

40 miles per day, x5 days = 200 miles per week / 800 miles per month.

Add another 100 miles for each weekend = 400 miles per month.

Plus an extra 1,000 miles for your overseas travel.