Bought the new Skoda Octavia mk4 1.5 TSI (6 speed manual)

Hi Folks!

First thread here.

A week ago I bought the new Skoda Octavia mk4. Lava blue, 1.5 TSI and 6 speed manual.

So far so good. 

The ride quality is excellent. A HUGE difference, compared to the previous model.  The materials, sound insulation, everything is top notch.

So...220 miles (100 highway :D) and I have two complaints:

- The Start/Stop system stopped working yesterday evening. 

- That stupid Skoda Connect thing, I cannot figure it out :) and I have an advanced degree in IT. So clearly they are doing something wrong.

So this Start/Stop system - the system displays that there is an error. It was working fine till yesterday. 

I start the car, nothing. No warnings nothing.

I get driving, and after it warms up, and I get to a traffic light instead of turning the car off - it says "Error Start/Stop system" and on the infotainment  - Sorry, this feature is currently unavailble.

So, planning to reach my dealer tomorrow.

I have had this car for a week, and I have to call the dealer?

That is a shaky start.

Thank god I bought the extended 5 years warranty :)

I have read the forum topics here. I went for a long drive, but nothing. It didn't fix it.

The fuel consumption is excellent though. 43MPG city driving with the A/C on and without the S/S system :)  though not so heavy traffic.

With heavy traffic I managed 38MPG (35*C, A/C on, bumper to bumper and Start/Stop ...working :)

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

One question how large are your alloys and what tyre brand/ size are fitted (17" 225/45) to help others with your praise of the ride. All early cars of a new model rather than Skoda call them First Edition might make sense to calll them Guinea Pig instead because you will iron out any issues/problems for future customers.:hi: Welcome to the forum from shy BTW.:thumbup:

5 minutes ago, golfhp said:

Did you notice some issues during cold start?