Buying used estate - expectation management

Newbie here but been reading posts for a while. My Peugeot 307 has just given up and I've got my heart set on a Skoda Octavia estate. I'm on a fairly modest budget although there are loads of cars around -generally in smaller garages - within my price range. Typically they seem to be with 80K on an upwards and anything from 5-15 years old (newer cars in my range often have much higher mileages ~ 135k). I drove a 2012 car today with 90k on it and records of a good service history, but I could feel the clutch juddering so assume it would be replaced soon. 

This has made me think, is every car I look at with these sorts of miles on going to be a bit of a timebomb in terms of some major components giving up e.g. clutch, injectors, dpf... i.e. is it unreasonable to expect to buy a car with this number of miles and it be good to go? The engine I'm particularly interested in is the 1.6 diesel although open to the petrol ones too.

I've previously ously bought a couple of (non Skoda) cars at 200k quite naively but with very few problems but those were very cheap cars that I took a punt on.

Any advice much appreciated.

It's difficult to say, Octavia's in general have weaping front shocks by year 6 or 7 or a decent bit of mileage, front topmount issues, rear tracking issues on the ones with independent rear suspension.

From what I see the 1.6 TDi is ok but all the diesels suffer from high oil consumption, DPF issues (especially short journeys or higher mileage cars) EGR cooler issues and water pump issues but this is wholly dependent on alot of things.

If buying diesel, I'd buy one with motorway miles on, the engine would have burnt cleaner and the DPF might not have performed as many regens. 

The mk2 version of the 1.2 TSI is a good performer but maybe a bit underpowered (wife has it in her 2015 Seat Leon) The 1.5 TSI could be a good option but I haven't heard much about it good or bad.