Cambelt Replacement

Avech37

Hi,

Apologies to all if this topic has been discussed on other threads but I am a newbie to this site..................

5 years ago, a Yeti TDI 170 Elegance was purchased for the wife. She is still over the moon about the car and I have to say, I like it very much as well. I am now at a point when I am told I have to have the cambelt replaced which I fully appreciate however, the car has travelled less than 10,000 miles!!

My question to you all is quite simply, should I replace the belt at such a low mileage? I appreciate all the arguments regarding belts degrading with time but what is the general opinion? I am led to believe that some recommendations originating from other European Skoda 'authorities' make reference to mileage only with no reference to a time based replacement trigger but I have no first hand evidence of this.

Any comments please?..............................and yes, I know less than 2k miles per annum is a bit extreme but that's how it is!

Yes it’s all a bit of a gamble, the UK is as far as I know the only country to put a date on changing the belt, but rubber certainly does deteriorate over time so the question really is how lucky do you feel?

Hi,

Apologies to all if this topic has been discussed on other threads but I am a newbie to this site..................

5 years ago, a Yeti TDI 170 Elegance was purchased for the wife. She is still over the moon about the car and I have to say, I like it very much as well. I am now at a point when I am told I have to have the cambelt replaced which I fully appreciate however, the car has travelled less than 10,000 miles!!