Superb Holiday – Berlin 2018

freelunch

My wife and I have been touring Europe for the past 25 years on a motorcycle. The internet and digital cameras made it easy to post trip reports, mainly on a sport-touring website. I got in the habit. We just took our first real trip abroad in the Sportline. I thought, well, I can't very well post a trip report on the old bikers' site. So, I asked ColinD. He said post in the Projects forum, then he would get around to creating a Trip Report forum. 

Apologies in advance: I write too long and in chronological order, because a couple years from now I want to read this and remember what the heck I got up to! It's memory and advanced years, ken? It took me longer to write the following and edit the photos than it did to take the nine-day trip to Berlin. I'm linking photos from photobucket, so there may be some trial and error before this gets ready to read.

Ready?

Berlin – April 2018

Day 1. London to Leuven to Köln (or Cologne or Koeln, as it says on my bank statement)

This was our second trip to the Continent on four wheels. Driving on the wrong side of the road proved easier than I thought, the car adjusts the lights for driving on the right automatically and I can reset the speedo to read KPH. Fully European. I wonder if my Czech-built, German car will switch back to MPH after Brexit?

The evening before we left, I washed the car, set each tyre at 37 psi, filled the window wash bottle and checked all the other fluids. I made ready my “clean air” window stickers for France and Berlin, programmed the Sat/Nav with all my lunch and hotel destinations and stuck my magnetic GB oval on the left side of my boot lid. I have a little GB symbol on my number plate, but I wanted to make real sure the driver behind me knew I was on the wrong side of the car.

We set off at 7 am and got to the Eurotunnel in plenty of time for the loo and last minute shopping: mints, water and our last English newspaper for nine days. 

001.jpg