Excessive Oil consumption 1.9Tdi

Hi all,

Im a bit new to this but hope someone can point be in the right direction.

I have a 2006 1.9tdi Octavia. BKC engine with 450,000KM. ( motorway driving) Its driving like a dream and I do most of my own maintenance. However it is progressively using far too much oil. I have been using high quality VW507 spec, fully synthetic 5W30 oil from new and service the car very regularly.  I havent noticed any excessive smoke from the exhaust during driving but there is a lot of carbon on the end of the exhaust pipe. There is a small bit of blue/grey smoke on startup.

Over last few months the oil consumption has risen quite a lot to about a litre every 2 months which equates to approx 8,000 km. I had an issue with the  EGR valve which was clogged with carbon. I celaned this out thoroughly but it wont reset so that will probably  have to be changed.

I am thinking along three lines.

Piston ring wear.

Turbo shaft seal wear although there is certainly no loss of power.

Valve stem seal wear.

I was also told of a issue with some type of filter that is under the Cam shaft ( rocker) cover that effects air usage and can cause oil consumption. dont know anyting about this !!!

Has anyone any ideas or come accross this issue. I know the oil consumption with the light oils is a bit higher but not this high.  I want to get the 1 million Km out of it before I have to change the engine for the second million  :)

many thanks

Anthony

Would a switch to a 5w40 like this be worth a try if it's suitable for your engine/on a fixed service interval as you don't need low ash oils as you have no DPF?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VW-Audi-Quantum-Platinum-5W40-Fully-Synthetic-Engine-Oil-5-Litres-/181376560205?pt=UK_Vehicle_Oils_Lubricants_Fluids&hash=item2a3ae2ac4d

• Like 1

Would a switch to a 5w40 like this be worth a try if it's suitable for your engine/on a fixed service interval as you don't need low ash oils as you have no DPF?