Rev/Speedo Dial Illumination

Hello All,

My recently purchased (in October 2016) 2010 Octavia has developed a fault with the dash lighting.

The Rev needle no longer lights up (on rare occasions it may light up for a few minuets while driving). I have noticed the Speedo needle sometimes flickers as well (which is a greater worry). I have seen discussions about having this fixed by various workshops, however, I am an electronics engineer of sorts and believe I will be able to tackle this job myself.

Here are the questions:

1) Does anyone have a part number (or specifications) for the SMD LED's I would need to replace?

2) I might as well replace all the LED's that are likely to fail (such as speedo), which ones are they and how many LED's are there in total?

I don't want to take the dash out, to then order the right parts, I would much rather have them ready for a quicker job.

Any help would be greatly appreciated from a first time owner of a Skoda!

Tom

---------------------------

Skoda Octavia MK2 2010

Face Lift

1.9 TDI - BXE

Rev LED Out.jpg

I don't think it's the LED's that fail but it's actually the regulator for them. I haven't got first hand experience to confirm unfortunately.

On the maxidot cluster I have apart here, it's 16 LED's which look to be about 3mmx4mm so probably a 3528.

- 4 for the speed/rpm dial

- 2 for the speed/rpm needle

- 1 for the temp/fuel dial

- 1 for the temp/fuel needle

its an led problem, very very common. numerous posts on here. ive had mine replaced(by cartronix at waterlooville.), as have many others. not sure how many you need, but dash removal is a 5 minute job. if youre going to do this yourself it would make an interesting feature!. they replaced all mine in 1/2 hour.

steve

Thanks,

If I do end up doing this then I will take some photos and write it up for the benefit of others.

You say that dash removal is so simple, then maybe I should just get on with it and see what I will find?