Skoda 1.4 TSI 150 DSG SE-L Exec estate. First longer term report.

I agree with almost everything you said, except I've no experience with diesels.

I switched to "driving on the right" in the menu. I didn't even realise the car would do it automatically.

ACC: next time it brings you to a halt, you can start going again with a flick toward you of the ACC stalk. No need to touch the pedal. Brilliant!

• Like 3

Just back from a European trip too and can concur with all you said.  Changed the headlights manually when waiting to get off the Eurotunnel into Calais....  forgot to do it when returning to England but turns out it did it itself.

The satnav for me was great - went through France, Belgium and Holland without a hitch.  Also liked the "new country" message when you crossed borders, advising of speed limits.

Mpg for me was around 51, and that was going mainly 75/80 on cruise, with a fully loaded boot, a wife in the front, 3 kids in the back and the aircon on constantly.

Like you I found the ACC fantastic, especially in traffic jams.  So much less tiring than having to dip a clutch, brake back and forth.  Takes a bit of trusting the car but it really was a revelation.  Thanks to freelunch for the stalk tip - will try this on the commute home today!

Edited by Mickey43
  • Like 1

Thanks Freelunch, I will try that stalk pull with the ACC in jams. My experience of the lights is that it would not let me set them manually until it had a SatNav fix and had re-initialised.

Thanks also Mickey43. I think my petrol mpg would be even closer to your diesel but for the drag of the bike rack and 2 bikes. Yes, speed limits display useful.

• Like 1

17 hours ago, freelunch said:

ACC: next time it brings you to a halt, you can start going again with a flick toward you of the ACC stalk. No need to touch the pedal. Brilliant!

This works!   No need for feet in this car :D

Thanks for the tip.

18 minutes ago, Mickey43 said:

No need for feet in this car :D