Octavia VRS estate 2.0 tsi died on the road.

Hi all,

I’m new to Skoda ownership (I’ve had my mk 2 Octavia VRS 2.0 tsi estate for a week) and I’ve enjoyed getting to know it.

Yesterday I was on my way home when the battery light came on. I turned everything off (lights, radio, air con etc) and it went off. For the next minute or so the battery light went on and off intermittently until the engine warning light and the EPC light came on. 10 seconds later it died completely. Recovery couldn’t get it moving so I ended up on the back of a flatbed being taken home in shame. Also had the AA out today and it’s the same storey. No life to be extracted.

The engine cranks but doesn’t fire up. Physical inspection doesn’t reveal anything apart a loose earth wire as shown in the photos below. Error codes are also shown below. Battery and the alternator are fine.

Can anyone offer advice or assistance? Where should the earth be attached? The car came with a three month warranty so it’s going back for the fix, I’d just like to know more about what it could be and what I can expect them to try to sort it.

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers!

https://ibb.co/g5Q9pQ

https://ibb.co/e0Q9pQ

https://ibb.co/jbjfw5

If the engine is turning over but not firing then that rules out a battery issue,i do hope yours isnt another one to suffer the timing chain tensioner failure,have a read on the pinned post about it,at least you still have a warranty on your car which should cover it. 

I'll try to have a look where the earth is clamped to. It must be somewhere very local though given how short the cable is and presumably a bolt or nut has fallen off. Did the AA man try grounding that wire somewhere to start?