European Road Trip Car Advice

VRScot

Hello folks,

I’m completely new to the world of Škoda (except a 1998 Felicia I had when I passed my test 12 years ago), I’m currently driving a 2006 Ford Focus ST225. I am however looking at 1U/1Z (pre-facelift) Octavias for a long road trip car/ daily driver. I have narrowed my choices down to a 1.9 TDI Elegance 1U/1Z, a Scout or a 2.0 TDI VRS Hatch. I would very much appreciate your help in choosing the most reliable car of the four and also, if possible how much I should spend on one and what I should look out for in a used Octavia. I am very tempted by the VRS as I love the looks and the balance of performance and fuel economy but would happily end up in any of the four. Thank you for your time and help, I figured you guys were probably the best people to ask.

I haven't got an Octy so I can't provide solid advice. This thread may help a little bit, if I've read it correctly...

I knew someone with a Race Blue 2.0 TDI vRS and it seemed nice externally, but I was never in it nor did I drive it. Good luck with buying one! :)

It might be worth checking to see whether there are any ULEZ areas on your planned trip. I know in the UK there are a growing number of ULE zones, and they're a pain in the wallet for owners of older TDI vehicles. (And older petrol cars, too.)  ULEZ compliance might not be a concern for you at all, but if it's a factor you've overlooked, I thought I'd mention it.

£8 for the right to drive on a road I've already paid VED and fuel tax to drive on grinds my gears.

https://www.brumbreathes.co.uk/info/32/charges-operation/34/paying-drive-clean-air-zone

If you're planning to drive into certain towns in France (Paris, Lyon, Grenoble, Lille, Strasbourg, Toulouse, Chambery, and Marseille) then you need to display a crit'air sticker and be aware of any pollution related restrictions.