Driving mode default

I thought it should always start in the mode that was selected when ignition was turned off???

That's certainly the case according to the manual...

"Note
The set driving mode remains stored even after switching the ignition on and off."

I only use "Individual" as the other pre-defined modes change settings I don't want changed (such as steering). My car always starts in Individual mode with my previous settings enabled.

• Thanks 1

I’m new to this, but just got the app and found this for the Superb 3:

The driving mode selection is performed in one of the following ways.

• By repeatedly pressing the button .
  • By tapping the relevant function surface on the Infotainment screen Fig. 306,

After switching the ignition off and on, the drive is set to Normal in the current driving mode. To change the drive setting, select the relevant driving mode again.

So it does differ from yours. I will dig further into the manual.

Thanks

Mine's MY16. Too many updates since then that try to fix something that isn't broken. Another example was the simplicity of searching for specific POIs on the MY16 that became a veritable minefield with the MY17 update.

I hope you find an answer or that someone else comes up with a solution. It sounds like the kind of thing that might be changed with VCDS. Perhaps our resident VCDS guru @Gizmo might find a solution!

I just noticed this too. I thought it was a bug but then found it explained in the manual so it's designed this way. Just have to remember to shift the gear stick down to select sport mode every time you start which is a bit dumb.

My MY17 will remember the mode but not for the gearbox.  It always defaults to D. Not a major issue as I use this most of the time.  Just a shame that E is a hassle to get to.  Would be better as an actual button a la Honda, Nissan etc.