1.5 SEL first gear issue.

Janner74

I wondered if other owners of 1.5 manual Karoq owners were having issues when pulling away on first gear. I just can't do it smoothly. I've tried low revs, high revs and just using the torque of the engine but to no avail. It's hard to explain what happens but I will try. I get the clutch bite point and go to increase the revs as I slowly lift the clutch further but the revs either jump up or bottom out and I "kangaroo" as if I'm a learner driver all other again. I have no issues in other gears as I change into them. Is it because the car is so new? It does get better when the car is warm but doesn't fully go away. Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Took delivery of my 1.5 TSI SE Tech Manual today. Same thing with mine but not every time. Car sets off a few inches then kangaroo's once. To me it seems the EPB has snatched then released.

8 hours ago, Zengt12 said:

Took delivery of my 1.5 TSI SE Tech Manual today. Same thing with mine but not every time. Car sets off a few inches then kangaroo's once. To me it seems the EPB has snatched then released.

What's the EFB? 

Hi Janner74. Do you still have issues with 1st gear? Mine still doing it but not all the time. Seems if you give it more revs at start it is less prone to lurching forward. Not very satisfactory in slow moving traffic though.

3 minutes ago, Zengt12 said:

Hi Janner74. Do you still have issues with 1st gear? Mine still doing it but not all the time. Seems if you give it more revs at start it is less prone to lurching forward. Not very satisfactory in slow moving traffic though.

It's in and off. It does seem better if I don't have the auto brake on. 

14 hours ago, Zengt12 said:

Strange how several people experience it but none of the media car reviews did. Has anyone experienced it on their test drives?

Only issue we had was changing from 2nd to 3rd gear, found it likes  a leisurely change rather than a hurried one.