New Karoq battery issue

mgm105

Hi guys! I've just joined your forum.

To cut the long story I'm an electronics engineer (it's my profession for the last 46 years ☺️) and half a year ago I purchased Karoq. After three months  I found that the start-stop system doesn't work as it did before: sometimes - it worked, sometimes -not. After search in the internet I started to suspect that my battery supplies too low voltage. I measured it with my Fluke directly on the battery terminals immediately after I stopped the engine. It was 12.5V and during 20 seconds decreased to something about 12.1V. I started the engine again, asked my wife to keep the revolutions about 2000/min and the voltage increased to 14.1V. In my opinion the alternator worked as it should. Next morning before starting the engine I raised the bonnet and measured the battery voltage - it was 12.0V.

I connected to the cigarette lighter my mobile phone charger equipped with DC voltmeter. It showed 11.8V (I'm an old bore - I tested this toy in my laboratory  - in the range 10 - 20V the measurements accuracy was excellent!).

Also I found that the measurement difference between direct battery terminals test and the phone adapter is always the same ~200mV. I suppose the reason is the voltage drop on wires and fuses.

I think there are only two reasons for such battery voltage drop: or there is any device with significant current consumption when the ignition is OFF, or my battery is defective. So during afternoon break I raised the bonnet and measured the current in the wire connecting the "negative" terminal of the battery to the chassis with DC Clamp Meter while the ignition was OFF and the car was locked. The test lasted 3 minutes. In the beginning there was 6.5 Amps current but after ~35 seconds the clamp didn't see any current at all (@ the full scale 10 Amp)!!!  Now I was sure there is no load draining my battery at night!